High School Roundup: IAC Small School basketball title games postponed

High School Roundup: IAC Small School basketball title games postponed


High School Roundup: IAC Small School basketball title games postponed



The Interscholastic Athletic Conference Small School championship basketball games scheduled for Thursday night at Tompkins Cortland Community College were postponed until Saturday.

Candor Central School sent students home at noon Thursday due to the weather, postponing or canceling all after-school activities. Candor’s girls were to play Southern Cayuga in Thursday night’s title game.

As a result, both the girls’ game and the boys’ matchup between Newfield and Moravia have been pushed back to Saturday evening. The action starts with the girls’ game at 5 p.m., followed by the boys’ contest at 7.

Tonight’s Large School finals — the girls’ game between Lansing and Waverly, and the boys’ game featuring Lansing and Elmira Notre Dame — are at 6 p.m. and 8, respectively.

Boys’ all-stars

Gabe Shrauger of Whitney Point and Chandler Benson of Moravia have been named most valuable players in the IAC North, as the league has announced its 2013-14 all-star teams.

Shrauger, a 6-foot-5 junior, averaged 19.5 points and 12 rebounds for the Eagles, who finished the regular season tied for first with Lansing in the Large North Division. Lansing won the tie-breaker, 46-44, on Tuesday night in Whitney Point.

Shrauger was joined on the all-star first team by teammate Zach Marsh, a 6-2 junior guard, Lansing 6-6 seniors Ben Rourke (16 ppg.) and Thomas Towner (14 ppg.), and Dryden’s Ali Abel-Ferretti, a 6-6 sophomore forward.

Benson, a 6-7 senior center, averaged 22.4 points in leading the defending Section 4 champion Blue Devils (16-1) to the North Small Division crown with an 11-1 record. Moravia is ranked third in the state in Class C.

Benson was joined on the first team by teammates Jared Lyon and Brett Denman, along with Marathon’s Zack Brandstadt, Southern Cayuga’s Tom Miller and Marathon’s Dan Lincoln.

In the IAC South, Elmira Notre Dame junior guard Darius Garvin and Spencer-Van Etten senior swingman Derek Carman have been named most valuable players of their divisions in the IAC for the second straight year.

Garvin was named Large South Division MVP and Carman the Small South MVP after he shared the honor last season.

Garvin was joined on the Large South first team by teammates Tom Agan and Jonas McCaig, plus Watkins Glen’s Luke Flahive and Colin Gates, and Waverly’s Dylan Perry.

Newfield placed three starters on the Small South first team — point guard Chris Byrd, forward Devon Cooper and guard Brian Barrett. They were joined on the first team by Candor’s Kevin Jensen.


More USA TODAY High School Sports