Old Fort's Hunter Perry named MAL POY

Old Fort's Hunter Perry named MAL POY


Old Fort's Hunter Perry named MAL POY


Old Fort’s Hunter Perry scored 163 points (28.8 per game) more than any other player in the Midland Athletic League this winter.

But no one could call the senior with 1,441 career points a ball hog as he also led the league in assists at 6.1 per contest, while also ranking fourth in the league in rebounds at 8.9 and second in steals at 3.5. Not bad for a point guard.

Perry helped lead the Stockaders to an unbeaten 10-0 mark in MAL play and the league’s final league title. For his efforts, he was named the league’s player of the year on Friday as the league officially released its all-league teams.

Perry’s coach Eric Hoover was coach of the year.

St. Joseph Central Catholic senior post Hunter Harrison joined Perry on the league’s first-team.

Old Fort’s Maison Steyer, Lakota’s Colin Timmons and SJCC’s Ben Linke each earned second-team honors.

On the girls side, Old Fort freshman Alli Adelsperger was named second-team. Her teammates Peyton Miller and Jordan Magers were both honorable mention honorees.

Other girls earning honorable mention recognition, included Lakota’s Katie Park and Morgan Mowry, along with SJCC’s Ashley Burns and Brianna Reardon.

Josh Kirkpatrick was recognized honorable mention for the Lakota boys.

Old Fort’s Brad Bannister and Elijah Cleveland were honorable mention picks, as were SJCC’s Marcus Kerr and Ryan Williams.

Midland Athletic League – Girls

First team

Kamryn Troike, Sr., St. Wendelin; Kate Brickner, Sr., Tiffin Calvert; Sydney Wentling, So., Carey; Kara Scherger, Jr., New Riegel; Seina Adachi, So., Seneca East; Julie Adelsperger, Sr., Mohawk; Aleta Daniel, Sr., Hopewell-Loudon; Lauren Ladd, Sr., New Riegel.

Second team

Ali Rymer, Sr., Carey; Kasey Adelsperger, Sr., Mohawk; Taylor Kirian, Sr., New Riegel; Nicole Bickley, Sr., Calvert; Allie Rutter, So., St. Wendelin; Taylor Arbogast, Jr., New Riegel; Hannah Draper, Sr., Carey; Courtney Burns, Sr., Hopewell-Loudon; Alli Adelsperger, Fr., Old Fort.

Honorable mention

Taylor Ritzler, So., Calvert; Lindsay Bickley, So., Calvert; Logan Johnson, Sr., Carey; Brooke Arbogast, Fr., Hopewell-Loudon; Hope Brickner, Sr., Hopewell-Loudon; Katie Park, Jr., Lakota; Morgan Mowry, Sr.; Lakota; Clara Adelsperger, Sr., Mohawk; Ally Weinandy, So., Mohawk; Morgan Noftz, Sr., New Riegel; Olivia Frost, So., North Baltimore; Kiah Powell, Fr., North Baltimore; Peyton Miller, Fr., Old Fort; Jordan Magers, Fr., Old Fort; Hannah Hahler, Jr., Seneca East; Ashley Burns, Jr., St. Joseph Central Catholic; Brianna Reardon, Jr., St. Joseph Central Catholic; Makenzie McAfee, Jr., St. Wendelin; Taylor Williams, Sr., St. Wendelin.

Player of the year: Kamryn Troike, St. Wendelin.

Coach of the year: Phil Vaughn, Carey.

Boys – First team

Hunter Perry, Sr., Old Fort; Jared Wentling, Jr.; Carey; Bryan Powers, Jr., Carey; Ryan Lommerse, Jr., Hopewell-Loudon; Ethan Caudill, Sr., Seneca East; Hunter Harrison, Sr., St. Joseph Central Catholic; Michael Bennett, Sr., Calvert; Gabe Walters, Sr., St. Wendelin.

Second team

Jake Dryfuse, Sr., New Riegel; Zach Boes, Sr., Carey; Colin Timmons, Sr., Lakota; Jacob Frost, Sr., North Baltimore; Maison Steyer, Sr., Old Fort; Ben Linke, Jr., St. Joseph Central Catholic; Mitch Parker, Sr., Mohawk; Drew Ritzler, So., Calvert.

Honorable mention

Austin Ball, Sr., Calvert; Austin Perry, Sr., Calvert; Matthew Holsinger, Sr., Carey; Laine Wentling, Sr., Carey; Garret Sendlebach, Jr., Hopewell-Loudon; Gauge Sadler, Fr., Hopewell-Loudon; Josh Kirkpatrick, Sr., Lakota; Gunnar Johnson, Jr., Mohawk; Hunter Fitschen, Sr., Mohawk; Tim Ink, Jr., New Riegel; Michael Kirian, Fr., New Riegel; Chad Wright, So., North Baltimore; Tyler Trumbull, Sr., North Baltimore; Brad Bannister, Sr., Old Fort; Elijah Cleveland, Fr., Old Fort; Jack Daniel, Jr., Seneca East; Ryan Williams, Sr., St. Joseph Central Catholic; Marcus Kerr, Sr., St. Joseph Central Catholic; Nick Root, Sr., St. Wendelin; Peter Campbell, So., St. Wendelin.

Player of the year: Hunter Perry, Old Fort.

Coach of the year: Eric Hoover, Old Fort.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Old Fort's Hunter Perry named MAL POY
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.