Wapahani's Evans named third-team; Lyles tops voting

Wapahani's Evans named third-team; Lyles tops voting


Wapahani's Evans named third-team; Lyles tops voting



Indianapolis Tech’s Trey Lyles keeps adding honors to his already strong resume.

After sweeping the state championship awards and winning the Mr. Basketball title, Lyles has added another honor to his lengthy list: Top vote-getter on The Associated Press’ boys all-state team released Wednesday.

Wapahani’s Grant Evans was named to the third team, the only player from East Central Indiana to be honored on either the boys or girls teams. Evans, a Wright State signee, averaged 25.5 points and 6.7 rebounds per game in leading the Raiders to a sectional championship.

Ball State signee Sean Sellers (Greensburg) was named to the first team. Fellow future Cardinal Jeremie Tyler (Indianapolis Arsenal Tech) was named to the second team.

Whitney Jennings, the Miss Basketball winner from Logansport, received the most votes on the girls all-state team chosen by a panel of coaches and media members.

Lyles led Tech to its first state title in nearly a century.

“He’s an all-around just great kid,” Tech coach Jason Delaney said after winning the championship game. “He symbolizes what we are, a student-athlete. It’s been an honor to coach him for three years.”

While Lyles averaged double figures in scoring in each of his four prep seasons, the 6-foot-10 Kentucky recruit has been much more than just a scorer. He finished eighth in state history in rebounds (1,209), played in the McDonald’s All-American game, was named Indiana’s Gatorade player of the year and brought home the first state title by an Indianapolis Public School in more than three decades.

Lyles finished the season averaging 23.7 points, 12.9 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 2.4 blocks.

Trevon Bluiett, who played at Indianapolis Park Tudor and has signed with Xavier, finished second in the voting — just as he did in the three-man Mr. Basketball race. James Blackmon Jr., of Marion, and Greensburg teammates Bryant McIntosh and Sean Sellers completed the first team. Blackmon is headed to Indiana and McIntosh is going to Northwestern.

Jennings, the state’s top scorer at 32.0 points, finished with the most votes on girls’ side. She’s headed to Iowa after leading Logansport to the Class 4A semifinals before losing to Penn.

Miss Basketball runner-up Maura Muensterman, an Indiana recruit from Class 3A state runner-up Evansville Mater Dei, was second in the voting. Bedford North Lawrence teammates Jenna Allen, who will play at Indiana, and Dominique McBryde, who is headed to Purdue, and Xavier recruit Kindell Fincher of Fort Wayne Canterbury rounded out the team.

Butler recruit Tyler Wideman, whose Lake Central squad fell runner-up to Tech in the Class 4A final, was on the boys second team along with Indianapolis Brebeuf’s P.J. Thompson, a Purdue recruit; Carmel’s Zach McRoberts, who has committed to Vermont; Lyles’ high school teammate Jeremie Tyler and Jacob Johnson of Mooresville.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Wapahani's Evans named third-team; Lyles tops voting
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.