Wilson leads all-Badgerland squad

Wilson leads all-Badgerland squad


Wilson leads all-Badgerland squad


Fond du Lac senior Michael Wilson was named the Player of the Year in the Badgerland Conference and was one of two Cardinals to earn first-team all-league honors it was announced recently.

Wilson, one of three forwards chosen for the first team, was the top scorer in the league and finished with 30 goals and 53 points on the season.

St. Mary’s Spings junior Connor Blanck joined Wilson as a forward on the first team, while Fond du Lac senior Alex Graf was chosen as one of two defenseman on the first team.

The rest of the first team was senior goalkeeper James Schroeder and sophomores Trenton Bliss, a forward, and Carver Watson, a defenseman, all of Appleton.

Waupun senior Ryan Durant and St. Mary’s Springs junior Anthony Grebe were selected as forwards on the second team, while Fond du Lac sophomore Ben Pertl was named to the second team as a defenseman.

Area honorable mention selections were William Shober of Fond du Lac, Mark Austin, Jackson Voight, Logan Mertens and Andrew Riehl of St. Mary’s Springs and Brandy Beekman, Brandon Van Galen and Bryce Buchholz of Waupun.

Earning conference scholar/athlete awards were Bailey Koenigs and Graf of Fond du Lac, Riehl of Springs and Buchholz of Waupun.

All-Badgerland Conference

First Team

(x-denotes unanimous selection)

Connor Blanck, jr., for, St. Mary’s Springs; Trenton Bliss, soph., for, Appleton; Alex Graf, s., def, Fond du Lac; x-James Schroeder, sr., gk, Appleton; x-Carver Watson, soph., def, Appleton; x-Michael Wilson, sr., for, Fond du Lac.

Player of the Year: Michael Wilson, Fond du Lac

Co-Coaches of the Year: Wes Holliday, Oshkosh, and Mike Brolsma, Appleton

Second Team

Ryan Durant, sr., for, Waupun; Mitch Gerhartz, jr., for, Neenah; Anthony Grebe, jr., for, St. Mary’s Springs; Brett Nyman, sr., gk, Fox Cities Stars; Ben Pertl, soph., def, Fond du Lac; Keegan Schmitt, sr., def, Beaver Dam.

Honorable Mention

Appleton: Devin Blob, sr., for; Nathan Zilisch, soph., for; Mike Alfaro, soph., def. Beaver Dam: Adam Lindeman, soph., gk. Fond du Lac: William Shober, soph., gk. Fox Cities Stars: Garrett Benz, sr., for; Riley Hughson, jr., for; Alex Gutjahr, jr., def. Neenah: Carter Grishaber, soph., for; Jack Kraus, fr., def; Travis Treml, fr., def. Oshkosh: Eddie Dempsey, sr., for; Zach Holliday, jr., gk. St. Mary’s Springs: Mark Austin, jr., for; Jackson Voight, sr., def; Logan Mertens, sr., def; Andrew Riehl, sr., gk. Waupun: Brady Beekman, soph., for; Brandon Van Galen, sr., for; Bryce Buchholz, sr., def.


Appleton: James Schroeder, sr.; Brady Seeliger, sr.; Ben Koester, sr.; Devon Blob, sr. Fond du Lac: Alex Graf, sr.; Bailey Koenigs, sr. Fox Cities: Garrett Benz, sr.; Evan Johnson, sr.; Jarik Nemeth, sr. St. Mary’s Springs: Andrew Riehl, sr. Waupun: Bryce Buchholz, sr.


Senior goalkeeper Taryn Immel earned top honors for the Fond du Lac Co-op squad after being selected to the all-Eastern Shores Hockey Conference second team, it was announced recently.

Immel was the lone Warbird named to either of the top two all-league teams.

Senior forward Shelby Sabel, junior forward Brecken Overbo and junior defenseman Madi Zipp were honorable mention selections.

Immel, Sabel, Bailey Hoch, Jade Van Buren and Sam Kozimor were scholar/athlete award winners.

All-ESHC Teams

First Team

Nina Anderson, jr., for, University School; Jaime Hathaway, sr., gk, University School; Emma Kohl, sr., def, Appleton West; Nicole Niemi, jr., def, Green Bay; Kelsey Rafferty, sr., for, Green Bay; Nicole Unsworth, fr., for, University School.

Second Team

Ally Fox, soph., for, Fox Cities; Taryn Immel, sr., gk, Fond du Lac; Greta Kobylinski, sr., def, University School; Rose Revolinski, jr., for, University School; Courtney Wittig, jr., for, Green Bay; Morgan Zirbel, fr., def, Green Bay.

Honorable Mention

Appleton West: Molly McKeever, jr., for; Natalie West, jr., for; Juuli Spelman, sr., for; Jenny Miller, sr., def; Libby Breaker, sr., gk. Arrowhead/Sussex: Abbey Weisrock, soph., gk. Beaver Dam: Karlea Behling, sr., for. Brookfield Central: Alexis Aghjan, sr., for; Jenna Bales, sr., gk. Fond du Lac: Brecken Overbo, jr., for; Shelby Sabel, sr., for; Madi Zipp, jr., def. Fox Cities: Nicole Barfknecht, jr., def; Ariel Nemeth, soph., def. Green Bay: Audrie Murphy, jr., gk. University School: Hannah Konair, soph., def.


Appleton: Jenny Miller, sr.; Juuli Spelman, sr.; Emma Kohl, sr. Beaver Dam: Karlea Behling, sr.; Kalli Udell, sr. Brookfield Central: Alexis Aghjian, sr.; Trinity Robinson, sr.; Maddie Benz, sr. Fond du Lac: Sam Kozimor, sr.; Bailey Hoch, sr.; Taryn Immel, sr.; Shelby Sabel, sr.; Jade Van Buren, sr. Fox Cities: Leigh McGuirk, sr. Green Bay: Kelsey Rafferty, sr. University School: Jaime Hathaway, sr.; Sarah Skinner, sr.; Heidi Golembiewski, sr.


More USA TODAY High School Sports