WNC rich again with volleyball talent

WNC rich again with volleyball talent


WNC rich again with volleyball talent


Who are some of Western North Carolina’s top volleyball players back for this season?

Here is a list of last year’s players who were named to the Citizen-Times All-WNC team, followed by the 2013 all-conference teams for the area.

The grade levels for the All-WNC players have been updated.



Caroline Marsh

North Henderson


Middle blocker/middle hitter

Marsh earned All-Western North Carolina Athletic Conference honors after finishing with a team-high 490 kills. Marsh also had 113 blocks, including a school-record 14 in a three-set win over NCHSAA 2-A champion Hendersonville.


Gracie Carrick, Brevard junior middle hitter

Lauren Davis, Erwin senior outside hitter/setter

Taylor Hock, West Henderson junior outside hitter


Mountain Athletic 3-A/4-A

Audrey Nash (Asheville); Whitney DeMoss, Sarah Smith and SallyAnne Johnson (Enka); Lauren Davis and Jacklyn Rhew (Erwin); Kylee Lenon (McDowell); Morgan Ballard and Taylor VanReenen (North Buncombe); Courtney Koehler, Kendra Rice and Natalie Montini (Reynolds); Kathryn Sizemore, Cheyenne Logan and Cayla Wood (Roberson).

Coach of the Year: Lori Ledford (Reynolds).

Player of the Year: Natalie Montini (Reynolds).

WNC Athletic 2-A/3-A

Rachel Cassell, Gracie Carrick and Hunter Parrish (Brevard); Bailey Waldbart (East Henderson); Mariah Wallace and Alex Clark (Franklin); Cameron Pryor, Caroline Marsh, Ellie Caldwell and Jonnie Petree (North Henderson); Brooklyn Allen, Mariah Lewis and Sheridan Pressley (Pisgah); Emma Raleigh and Bonnie Derks (Smoky Mountain); Taylor Ross (Tuscola); Savanna Austin, Rachel Kordonowy, Taylor Houck, Mary Catherine Ball and Caroline Hauss (West Henderson).

Co-Coaches of the Year: Tiffany Lowrance (West Henderson) and Megan Woods (Pisgah).

Co-Players of the Year: Cameron Pryor (North Henderson) and Savanna Austin (West Henderson).

Western Highlands 1-A/2-A

Kylie Polsgrove and Bre Heaton (Avery County); Jamie Lee Zullo, Caylie Shew, Blaire Hawkins, Micayla Bedoian, Cassie Born and Victoria Schandevel (Hendersonville); Tasha Chandler (Madison); Sarah Robinson and Kennedi Grindstaff (Mitchell); Nyssa Freeman, Alex Boone and Christina Ray (Mountain Heritage); Morgan Dale, Wesley Barker and Krysta Przestzelski (Owen); Kara Overholt, Sarah Phipps, Lily Owens and Rebecca Mitchell (Polk County).

Coach of the Year: Erica Cantrell (Hendersonville).

Player of the Year: Caylie Shew (Hendersonville).

Big Smoky Mountain 1-A

Erin West (Andrews); Tiffany Timpson and Haley Reaux (Hayesville); Hannah Carson (Murphy); Daylee Brooms (Robbinsville); Morgan Sisk, Hannah Reese, Brooke Reese and Candace Petit (Rosman); Valerie Arkansas, Lydia Sale and Alex Treadway (Swain County).

Coach of the Year: Amanda McCall (Rosman).

Player of the Year: Valerie Arkansas (Swain County).

Little Smoky Mountain 1-A

Kirsten Mills, Jessica Stiwinter and Natasha Baumgarner (Blue Ridge); Haylie Shope, Lauren Beaver and Kameron Forrister (Hiwassee Dam); Jaiden Bateman (Nantahala).

Co-Coaches of the Year: Kelsey Mears (Blue Ridge) and Brittany Stiles (Hiwassee Dam).

Player of the Year: Kirsten Mills (Blue Ridge).

Carolinas Athletic Association (NCISAA)

Taylor Robinson, Azana Green, Anna Otto and Maribeth Harrington (Asheville Christian Academy); Bonnie Melanson (Asheville School); Hannah Draddy (Carolina Day).

Player of the Year: Madison Allen (Shannon Forest).

– Follow the HS Huddle on Facebook www.facebook.com/hshuddle or Twitter: www.twitter.com/acthshuddle


More USA TODAY High School Sports