WNY High School Football Team Previews

WNY High School Football Team Previews


WNY High School Football Team Previews


The 2014 WNY High School Football season will begin the weekend of Sept. 5th, with a full slate of games. The top matchups for week one include Orchard Park @ Frontier, Kenmore West @ Williamsville South, Depew @ Alden, Randolph @ Maple Grove/Chautauqua Lake, Jamestown @ Sweet Home, and Grand Island @ Williamsville North.

In addition, three games will be played September 5th at Ralph Wilson Stadium: South Park vs. Hutch Tech (at 4:00p), Lockport vs. Lancaster (6:30p), and Iroquois vs. West Seneca East (at 9:00p)

During the past six years, Section VI has won 11 State Football Championships; overall, Section VI has won 19 State Titles.

In addition, 48 players were selected for First-Team All-State during this period. The brand of quality of football is evident, since over 145 alumni have played professional football (with the majority playing in the NFL.)

Players from the Class of 2015 who should excel this season include Michael Bowers of Randolph; T.J. Wheatley, Jr. of Canisius; George Attea of Williamsville North; Roderick Morrow of Burgard; Jake and Nick Ames of Williamsville North; Matt Rymarczyk of Kenmore East; Alex Molik of North Tonawanda; Joe DeGrood of Hamburg; Austin Gallagher of Williamsville South; Chris Woodard of North Tonawanda; Jordan Evert of Sweet Home; Sam Castronova of Williamsville South; Zack Panebianco of Jamestown; Matt McCarthy of Fredonia; Marshawn Gibson of Cheektowaga; Stephen Carlson of Jamestown; Antonio Leonard of South Park; Kevin Torrillo & Brandon Smiley of Sweet Home; Joe Mistretta of Jamestown; Darelle Sanders of Burgard; Paul Brinkel of Frontier; Zac Kelly of Williamsville North; Brad Zaffram & Josh Huffman of Canisius; Ben Larson of Jamestown; Emmanuel & Tiawon Moss of Burgard; Bill Lorenz and Britton Mann of Clarence; Nick Paolini of Grand Island; Phalla Musall of Franklinville/Ellicottville; Jake Rinus from Fredonia; Duke Hwang of Williamsville North; Brendan Weierheiser of Akron; Andrew White from Bennett; Ryan Shaw of Eden; Jerome Brundidge & Chris Gangarossa of Canisius; Justin DeLaRosa of Frontier; Chris Tideswell of Williamsville East; Shaolin McCray of Niagara Falls; Immanuel Williams of St. Francis; Steve Glinski & Ken Williams of Nichols; Tyler Hall of East Aurora/Holland; Mike Hall of Lackawanna; William Myers and Matt Perla of Orchard Park; Dylan Sekuterski & Nick Perrine of Depew; and Jerome Brundidge of Canisius.

Underclassmen who should vie for Post-Season Honors include Austin Greenwood of St. Joe’s; Jake Fuzak of Williamsville South; Terius Wheatley of Orchard Park; Jason Taylor of Kenmore West; Chris Aronia of Grand Island; Zacc Kinsey of Jamestown; Lyle Grant of Alden; Justin Jones of St. Joe’s; John Dolac, West Seneca East; Kaylin Edwards of Burgard; Austin Neal of South Park; Spencer DiMitroff of Clarence; Marcus Ford of Maryvale; Morgan Mariacher of Iroquois; Dylan Lewis of Medina; Cody Sikora of North Tonawanda; Nick Holland of Jamestown; Corey Ayers of Sherman/Clymer; Josh Ball of Springville; Sean Delillis of Hamburg; Foster Dell of Pioneer; Ryan Conschafter of St. Joe’s; Tony Robinson of St. Mary’s; Alex Damiani of Lancaster; Dylan Riddoch of Alden; Jerry Hickson of St. Francis; Jason Dowell of Hutch Tech; Jarod Brandon of Grand Island; Marquex Lofton of Lackawanna; Stephan Parker of Cheektowaga; Dan McCarthy of East Aurora/Holland; Dillon Janca of Orchard Park; Matt Foster of Williamsville South and Cliff Ziegler of Cardinal O’Hara.

Courtesy Dick Gallagher 2014 Preseason


More USA TODAY High School Sports