Wrestling Roundup: Norwich, Tioga, Deposit-Hancock win Class titles

Wrestling Roundup: Norwich, Tioga, Deposit-Hancock win Class titles


Wrestling Roundup: Norwich, Tioga, Deposit-Hancock win Class titles


Norwich’s Tristan Rifanburg and Frank Garcia both won individual wrestling titles in decisive fashion Saturday, helping the host Purple Tornado to the team title at the Section 4 Class B Tournament.

Dalen Geislinger was also a champion for Norwich, which finished with 167 points to runner-up Maine-Endwell’s 151 tally. Windsor was third with 146 points.

The tournament was one of three class tournaments held Saturday, with the Class C Tournament at Greene and the Class D Tournament at Odessa-Montour. In addition to individual and team titles, the top four in each weight class earn berths into the Division II Tournament of next weekend’s Section 4 Championships at Binghamton University’s Events Center.

Rifanburg cruised to the 138-pound title, pinning both his opponents in the first period, including Maine-Endwell’s Brock Post in 1:10 of the finals. The Norwich junior will be seeking a record fifth Section 4 title next weekend.

Garcia won the 152 crown with a pin of M-E’s Brady Wisniewski in 2:37. Geislinger defeated Chenango Valley’s Caleb Wiggins by a 4-2 decision to take the 99 title.

The No. 1 seeds prevailed in all but two of the 15 weight classes, the exceptions coming at 126 and 182 where second-seeded Kobe Garrehy of M-E and Austin Orshal of Windsor won titles, respectively.

Garrehy pinned top-seeded Ian Lupole of Susquehanna Valley in 3:31 to win the 126 title, while Orshal eked out a 3-1 decision over CV’s Reed Grunder in the 182 final.

Along with Norwich, both M-E and Whitney Point also had three individual champions. Kiegan Brown (113) and Zak Garrehy (145) also won titles for the Spartans, while WP’s champions were Nate Grubham (132), Jordan Torbitt (160) and Andrew Barnhart (195).

Class C

Bolstered by nine finalists, including champions Kaleb Stone and Dan Hosking, Tioga held off Bainbridge-Guilford/Afton/Harpursville.

Tioga finished with 182½ points to BGAH’s 174. Sidney, which had the most individual champions with three, finished a distant third out of 10 teams with 117 points.

Stone won the 120 title and Hosking the 126 crown, both beating BGAH wrestlers in the finals. Stone pinned Ryan McMahon in 1:46 while Hosking rolled to an 11-1 victory over Kevin Hubbard.

Among Tioga’s runners-up was Jesse Manuel, who in a possible Section 4 Division II title showdown lost to two-time state champion William Koll of Lansing, 19-8, in the 132 final.

Winning titles for BGAH were Chris Cirigliano (106) and Jamie Griswold (145). Cirigliano pinned Lansing’s Hunter Oblinski in 1:05 in their title match and Griswold pinned Watkins Glen’s Nick Cocola in 3:01 of their final.

Waverly had two champions, including Ryan Wolcott, a state runner-up last year who next week will vie for a fourth Section 4 title.

Wolcott won the 220 title with a 34-second pin of Tioga’s Aaron Shipman. The Wolverines’ other champion was A.J. Burkhart, who won the 99 title with a 65-second pin of Tioga’s John Worthing.

Sidney’s three champions were Dylan Gifford (152), Nick Jump (160), and Austin Dean (285). Gifford and Jump were the third seeds in their respective weight classes.

Among other winners was unbeaten Christian Dietrich of Greene, who won the 182 title with a 12-1 decision over Watkins Glen’s Ian Chedzoy.

Class D

Deposit/Hancock cruised to the Section 4 Class D title, led by a quartet of individual champions in Dean Raymond (99), Stephen McKee (106), Colby Hall (132) and Dan Babcock (285).

Raymond, a reigning Section 4 champion, defeated Groton’s Garrett Lockwood, 4-0, to win the 99 title. Babcock also won by decision, 4-2, over Candor’s Tyler Hallett while Mckee and Hall secured their titles with pinfall victories.

D/H finished with 209 points, well ahead of runner-up Oxford, which had 152. The Blackhawks also had four champions with Joe Nelson (113), Nik Hansen (160) Joe Jackson (170) and Garyn Huntley (220) winning title bouts.

Nelson, a Section 4 champion two years ago, defeated teammate Nate Hansen by technical fall, 16-0.

Walton had three champions, Logan Robinson (120), Dylan Wood (126) and Dakota Coffey (138). Wood, a reigning Section 4 champion, defeated Groton’s Darren Ostrander by an 8-5 decision in the final.


More USA TODAY High School Sports