Zanesville, Rosecrans earn top honors on All-East District basketball teams

Zanesville, Rosecrans earn top honors on All-East District basketball teams


Zanesville, Rosecrans earn top honors on All-East District basketball teams


Zanesville boys and girls basketball seasons dominated competition this year — each clinching East Central Ohio League titles — earning its players and coaches recognition as the Associated Press released its East District honors Wednesday.

Also representing the city was Rosecrans, which also earned top honors on the list.

The Blue Devils were 21-1 during the regular season, where they were led by Division I district player of the year J.T. McFarland. The senior averaged 12.5 points per game and shot 75 percent from the line. He was 106-of-228 from the field (49 percent on 2-pointers, 37 percent on 3-pointers). He also is an Ohio North-South player in football and basketball. He has signed to play football at Ohio Dominican.

McFarland was joined by Malik Bocook and Dar Stanford. Bocook, a junior, averaged 12.6 points and 9.3 rebounds. He blocked 45 shots and had 25 steals. Stanford, a senior, avereaged 7.6 points per game. As a three-year starter at point guard, he had team highs of 2.4 assists and 39 steals.

Zanesville’s Scott Aronhalt was named coach of the year.

Alexus Grimmett was the Division I district girls player of the year for the Lady Devils, who went 17-5 and 9-3 in the ECOL to earn the Scarlet Division title. The senior averaged 13.3 points per game, 4.3 rebounds and shot 68 percent from the line.

Teammaes Devyn Bonner and Leanne Ulbrich also were first-teamers. Bonner, a sophomore, averaged 11.7 points and 6.2 rebounds per game. Ulbrich, a senior, had 5.7 points and 2.7 assists per game.

Zanesville’s Jeff Moore was named coach of the year.

The Lady Devils play Dublin Coffman in a Division I district semifinal at 6 p.m. today against Dublin Coffman at Hamilton Township.

The Bishops’ Gale Kirkbride was coach of the year in Division IV. Rosecrans went 13-0 in the ECOL to win the Gray Division title.

Molly Nash was named to the first team and teammates Maddie Chandler (second team), Kloie Johnson (third team) and Alexis Kirkbride (honorable mention) also were honored. Nash, a senior, averaged 16.3 points and 9.5 rebounds. She was a third-team All-Ohio pick the past three years.

Rosecrans plays Conotton Valley at 6 p.m. today at New Philadelphia.

Jesse Melick was a second-team pick for the Bishop boys, who finished the regular season 9-13. Aaron Gehlken was special mention.

The Bishops play Steubenville Catholic Central in a sectional final at 7 p.m. Friday at Union Local.

The list is voted on by a panel of the district’s media members.

Tri-Valley’s Monica Crossley was a Division I first-team selection on the girls side. She averaged 8.4 points and 5.9 rebounds per game for the Scotties, who finished the regular season with a 3-19 overall and 3-13 in the Muskingum Valley League.

Avery Williams and Camden Craig made first team honors on the boys side. Tri-Valley, which played Zanesville in the boys tournament today, finished 15-7 overall and 12-4 in the MVL. Williams averaged 15.2 points, 8.5 rebounds per game and shot 58 percent from the field.

Craig was 40-of-49 on free throws, averaging nine points and three rebounds per game.

Division II

Not only did it clinch the MVL title with a 16-0 record, but Maysville’s girls also was perfect in 23 games overall. Kayla Russell was a first-team pick, Brooke Smith made the second team and Kori Sidwell was a third-team selection for the Panthers. Russell averaged 13.7 points per game, shot 80 percent from the free-throw line and 49 percent on 3s.

The Panthers will taken on Cambridge in a district final at 7 p.m. today at Union Local.

Tanner Stottsberry was special mention for Maysville’s boys, and Chase Roberts was an honorable mention selection.

Mallory Trout, who broke Philo’s all-time leading scoring record this season, earned first-team honors on the girls side. Corrie Burkhardt and Kara Hutcheson were honorable mention selections. Trout averaged 21.5 points and six rebounds per game, going 95-of-122 on free throws (78 percent).

The Electrics take on top-seeded West Holmes im a district final at 7 p.m. today at Tri-Valley.

Chase Hambel made second team for Philo’s boys, and teammates Zak Sheridan and Tyler Cassady were honorable mention.

Vada Clemens was the only representative for Morgan’s girls, taking a spot on the third team. For the boys, Marcus Mayle and Brady Weaver were honorable mention picks.

John Glenn’s boys clinched the MVL title with a 14-2 league record, and Parker Evans’ play landed him a spot on first team. Drew Rackley was a second-team pick and Blake Atkins and Clay Sturtz were honorable mention selections. Evans averaged 13.8 points per game.

The Muskies take on Carollton in a district semifinal at 7 p.m. Friday at Zanesville’s Winland Memorial Gymnasium.

Brittany Fraunfelter was special mention for the Lady Muskies, and Brooke Fatheree and Taylour Fatheree made honorable mention.

Division III

Amisha Herd was a first-team pick for the West Muskingum girls, who had a 10-6 record in the MVL. Herd averaged 15.7 points per game. Mariah Lynn was on the third team.

Colton Pickrell was honorable mention selection for the boys.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Zanesville, Rosecrans earn top honors on All-East District basketball teams
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit