A glimpse into the Cincinnati-area football division changes

A glimpse into the Cincinnati-area football division changes


A glimpse into the Cincinnati-area football division changes


With official OHSAA football practice opening on Aug. 1, let’s take a look at some of the Cincinnati-area division changes that are in place when the Ohio season starts Aug. 26.

The OHSAA announced the division changes earlier this spring. Divisions are based on enrollment.

Mount Healthy quarterback David Montgomery is one of the area's top players in the 2016 class.

Mount Healthy quarterback David Montgomery is one of the area’s top players in the 2016 class.

Information is courtesy of Enquirer playoff projections analyst Steve Shuck.

Division changes from 2014 to 2015:

Sycamore 1 to 2

Western Hills 2 to 1

Mount Healthy 2 to 3

Northwest 2 to 3

Winton Woods 2 to 3

New Richmond 3 to 4

Norwood 4 to 3

Badin 5 to 4

Middletown Madison 5 to 4

Shroder 5 to 4

Mariemont 5 to 4

Reading 5 to 4

Deer Park 5 to 6

Purcell-Marian 5 to 6

Aiken 7 to 4

Riverview East Academy 7 to 5

Gamble Montessori 7 to 6

Division 1 – Region 2 – Two of the 2014 qualifiers, Hilliard Darby (7) and Miamisburg (11) have been moved to regions in Division 2. None of the five teams moving in figure to be contenders.
Division 2Region 6– Major changes in this region. The two teams mentioned above, Darby and Miamisburg, now members of this region, are likely to contend for a berth. Sycamore will experience its first year in Division 2 and should be a factor. Four of the top eight from 2014 are gone. Leading the way out is Mt. Healthy, who finished second in the region and was undefeated in the regular season. Other playoff teams from last year that are gone are Lima Senior (4th), Northwest (6th), and Tecumseh (8th). Winton Woods also moves down a division.
Division 3 – Region 10– The local contenders in the region are likely to be the ones that moved down from Division 2, Mt. Healthy, Northwest and Winton Woods. Area teams that qualified last year and remain at this level are Western Brown and Talawanda. The top two qualifiers from last year, Wapakoneta and Bellefontaine, have moved on to other regions.Trotwood-Madison, always in the hunt, remains in Region 10.

Division 4 – Region 14 – For several years, Alter and Clinton-Massie have ruled this
region. They are still there. 2014 qualifiers that have been relocated are Norwood and
Miami Trace. New Richmond moved down from Division 3 but the biggest local change is the large number of teams that moved up from Region 5. Badin, Mariemont, Shroder and Waynesville were qualifiers in Region 18. Reading, Midd. Madison and C-J also moved up.
Division 5 – Region 18– This region lost five of the eight qualifiers from last year.
Defending champion CHCA remains as does Madeira and Greeneview. Teams that
were added do not appear to be as strong as those that departed. Consider this a
weaker region than 2014.
Division 6 – Region 22– The big news here is that perennial power Maria Stein Marion
Local has moved up to this region. Winners of four straight state titles at Division 7,
there is no reason to believe they canʼt continue their success in Division 6. Thatʼs not good news for local teams.
Division 7 – Region 26– Other than the loss, which actually is a gain for others in this
region, with the movement of Marion Local up a division, the strength is about the same. Only one local team qualified in 14, Cincinnati Miami Valley Christian.


More USA TODAY High School Sports