Class A breakdown: Beechwood now top dog

Class A breakdown: Beechwood now top dog


Class A breakdown: Beechwood now top dog

Mayfield's jump to Class 2-A shakes up state's smallest class


Mayfield's jump to Class 2-A shakes up state's smallest class

With the Kentucky High School Athletic Association having realigned its six football classes for the 2015-18 seasons, The Courier-Journal will take an in-depth look at how each class has been affected.

Today, we take a look at Class A.



Class A was the least affected of the six classes, as only two teams left and three teams joined.

But one of the defectors was a big one, as Mayfield has jumped to Class 2-A. The Cardinals had reached the Class A state final six straight years, winning three straight championships from 2012-14 and also capturing the 2010 crown.

Beechwood, winner of 11 state championships (most recently in 2008), would appear to be the top benefactor of Mayfield’s departure. Beechwood has a combined record of 59-24 since the start of the 2009 season but had lost to Mayfield in the state semifinals in five of the past six seasons.

Russellville appears most likely to replace Mayfield as the team to beat in Western Kentucky.

From Eastern Kentucky, Williamsburg (2013-14 runner-up), Fairview (vacated as 2012 runner-up) and Hazard (2011 champion, 2010 runner-up) recently have enjoyed the most success.



Based on last year’s final Courier-Journal Litkenhous Ratings, the 2015 state semifinal matchups would be Beechwood at Russellville and Williamsburg at Raceland. Beechwood would be favored over Williamsburg in the final.



* Dropping from Class 2-A: Bishop Brossart, Crittenden County, Fort Knox.



* Jumping to Class 2-A: Allen Central, Mayfield.



Records from 2014

* District One: Crittenden County (4-7), Fulton City (1-9), Fulton County (1-9), Russellville (9-4).

* District Two: Bethlehem (7-5), Campbellsville (7-5), Caverna (4-7), Fort Knox (0-10).

* District Three: Eminence (1-10), Frankfort (10-3), Holy Cross (8-4), Kentucky Country Day (6-5).

* District Four: Beechwood (11-3), Bellevue (7-5), Dayton (3-8), Ludlow (6-5).

* District Five: Berea (4-7), Bishop Brossart (1-8), Bracken County (0-11), Nicholas County (2-9), Paris (9-3).

* District Six: Fairview (7-5), Paintsville (10-3), Raceland (11-3).

* District Seven: Harlan (5-6), Lynn Camp (2-9), Pineville (5-6), Williamsburg (14-1).

* District Eight: Hazard (10-3), Jenkins (1-8-1), Phelps (0-10-1), Pikeville (11-1), South Floyd (5-6).

* Playoff notes: Fifth-place team from District Eight will be designated as fourth-place team from District Six in bracket. Fifth-place team from District Five will not advance to playoffs.



Includes year of most recent title

Beechwood (11, 2008); Russellville (3, 1990); Fort Knox (3, 1990); Pikeville (3, 1989); Paris (3, 1982); Bellevue (2, 1979); Hazard (1, 2011); Crittenden County (1, 1985); Ludlow (1, 1975); Dayton (1, 1966).


Jason Frakes can be reached at (502) 582-4046 and followed on Twitter @kyhighs.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Class A breakdown: Beechwood now top dog
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit