Damon Bailey heads latest Hall of Fame induction class

Damon Bailey heads latest Hall of Fame induction class


Damon Bailey heads latest Hall of Fame induction class


Former Bedford North Lawrence star Damon Bailey, the state’s career scoring leader, will take his expected place alongside the elite players in the Indiana history when he is inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

Bailey, who powered BNL to the 1990 state championship, tops the 2016 induction class that will honored on March 23. He will be joined by former Indiana University star Calbert Cheaney and Madison standout Willie Humes in the 12-man class.

Bailey, the 1990 Mr. Basketball, is only the ninth player in Hall of Fame history to be elected in their first year of eligibility. That short list includes Steve Alford, Kent Benson, Larry Bird, Dave Colescott, Kyle Macy, George McGinnis, Rick Mount and Oscar Robertson.

Bailey scored a record 3,134 points. He was the National Player of the Year and was named the High School Player of the Decade by USA Today. He led the Stars to the state title before a world-record crowd of 41.046 in the Hoosier Dome.

BNL went 99-11, with three trips to the Final Four, during his four years. That winning carried on to Indiana University, where he graduated having won more games (108, including 11 NCAA Tournament games) than any player in IU history.

Bailey also coached the BNL girls to the 2014 Class 4-A state championship.

The other notables in the 2016 class include:

x-Cheaney, who set the Big Ten scoring record with 2,613 points at IU. Cheaney later played 13 seasons in the NBA with five clubs.

x-Humes, who scored 1,876 career points for the Cubs and later had college success at Vincennes and Idaho State. He coached the Madison girls for three years and went 53-16 with two sectional titles.

The rest of the class includes Rushville’s Brad Miley (1976), Martinsville’s Tom Bowman (1959), the late Henry Clason (Goshen, 1938), Lebanon’s Jim Fisher (1979), Evansville Bosse’s Russ Grieger (1960), Michigan City Elston’s Bill Hahn (1959), Lafayette Jeff’s Terry Stillabower (1964), Holland’s Joe Todrank (1956) and Columbus’ Charles Wade (1963).


More USA TODAY High School Sports