Fondy’s Krzanowski earns top VFA South honor

Fondy’s Krzanowski earns top VFA South honor


Fondy’s Krzanowski earns top VFA South honor


Fond du Lac junior Devon Krzanowski, right, was named the Linebacker of the Year and earned unanimous first-team defense honors to lead the Cardinals’ contingent on the all-VFA South Football Teams.

Fond du Lac junior Devon Krzanowski, right, was named the Linebacker of the Year and earned unanimous first-team defense honors to lead the Cardinals’ contingent on the all-VFA South Football Teams.

Devon Krzanowski was named the Linebacker of the Year in the Fox Valley Association and was one of five unanimous first-team all-conference selections for Fond du Lac on the all-conference teams.

Krzanowski, a junior, was the leading tackler on the VFA South Division champions and tabbed to one of the two inside linebacker positions on the 16-member first team.

Seniors Aron Frank at defensive end and Jake Walgenbach at safety were also unanimous first-team selections for the Cardinals, while senior outside linebacker Noah Ahlswede and senior cornerback Ryan Collien joined the Fond du Lac contingent on the first team defense.

Senior offensive linemen Mark Dilling and Brett VandenBoogaard were unanimous choices on the first team offense for Fond du Lac, while senior running back Justin Maratik rounded out the team’s first-team offense honorees.

Walgenbach was tabbed as the first-team all-FVA punter.

Fond du Lac’s Mike Gnewuch was named Coach of the Year after leading the Cardinals to a 7-1 league record and the conference crown.

Stevens Point’s Victor Kizewski was the Offensive Player of the Year and Offensive Back of the Year, while teammate Jacob Erdman was the Offensive lineman of the Year. Marshfield’s Zach McManus was named the WR/TE of the Year in the league.

Oshkosh North’s Zach Angle was named the Defensive Player of the Year in the Conference and Defensive Lineman of the Year, while Stevens Point’s Pierce Kauth was the Defensive Back of the Year.

Erdman, McManus and Kizewski joined the Fond du Lac duo as unanimous first-team selections along with Marshfield lineman Andrew Gilkerson, Wisconsin Rapids’ lineman Jack Vruwink, Neenah receiver Jose Alba-Zielinski and Marshfield running back Nick Hoheisel.

The rest of the offense consisted of lineman Jacob Derdering, fullback Geoffrey Cullen and quarterback Tyler Kujawa of Oshkosh North, receiver Brock Young and offensive lineman Jacob Stein of Hortonville and quarterback of Joe Jung of Neenah.

Stevens Point defensive Jake Harlow, Neenah outside linebacker Zach Gruett and Hortonville defensive back Kyle Witthuhn were unanimous selections to the defense, while defensive lineman Graham Mulder, defensive end Jack Dorschner of Neenah, defensive lineman Gavin Haehl, safety Mikaal Geenen of Oshkosh North, and safety Evan Mallek of Stevens Point rounded out the first –team defense.

Kizewski as return specialist and Oshkosh North kicker Sam Herkert joined Walgenach as first-team specialists.

Two Fond du Lac players were named to the all-VFA South second team was senior tight end Will Wright and senior defensive lineman Gage Zahradnik.

Earning honorable mention all-conference honors for the Cardinals were offensive linemen Mason Laning and Dakota Wagner, quarterback Quinn Woelfel, defensive lineman Tanner Koenigs, outside linebacker Carver Nolan, cornerback Trey Halfman, safety Keagan Berandt and return specialist Reggie Hernandez.

All-VFA South

First Team

(x-denotes unanimous selection)


x-Jose Alba-Zielinski, sr., wr, Neenah; Geoffrey Cullen, sr., fb, Oshkosh North; Jacob Dedering, sr., ol, Oshkosh North; x-Jacob Erdman, jr., ol, Stevens Point; x-Mark Dilling, sr., ol, Fond du Lac; x-Andrew Gilkerson, sr., ol, Marshfield; Nick Hoheisel, sr., rb, Marshfield; Joe Jung, jr., qb, Neenah; x-Victor Kizewski, sr., rb, Stevens Point; Tyler Kujawa, sr., qb, Oshkosh North; Justin Maratik, sr., rb, Fond du Lac; x-Zach McManus, sr., te, Marshfield; Jacob Stein, sr., ol, Hortonville; x-Brett VandenBoogaard, sr., ol, Fond du Lac; x-Jack Vruwink, sr., ol, Wisconsin Rapids; Brock Young, jr., wr, Hortonville.


Noah Ahlswede, sr., lb, Fond du Lac; x-Zach Angle, sr., dl, Oshkosh North; Ryan Collien, sr., cb, Fond du Lac; Josh Dorschner, jr., de, Neenah; x-Aron Frank, sr., de, Fond du Lac; Mikaal Geenen, sr., s, Oshkosh North; x-Zach Gruett, sr., lb, Neenah; Gavin Haehl, sr., dl, Oshkosh North; x-Jake Harlow, sr., de, Stevens Point; x-Blake Kalwitz, sr., lb, Hortonville; x-Pierce Kauth, sr., cb, Stevens Point; x-Devon Krzanowski, jr., lb, Fond du Lac; Evan Mallek, sr., s, Stevens Point; Graham Mulder, jr., dl, Neenah; x-jake walgenbach, sr., s, Fond du Lac; x-Kyle Witthuhn, sr., cb, Hortonville.


Sam Herkert, sr., k, Oshkosh North; x-Victor Kizewski, sr., rs, Stevens Point; Jake Walgenbach, sr., p, Fond du Lac.

Offensive Player of the Year: Victor Kizewski, Stevens Point

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Jacob Erdman, Stevens Point

Offensive WR/TE of the Year: Zach McManus, Marshfield

Offensive Back of the Year: Victor Kizewski, Stevens Point

Defensive Player of the Year: Zach Angle, Oshkosh North

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Zach Angle, Oshkosh North

Linebacker of the Year: Devon Krzanowski, Fond du Lac

Defensive Back of the Year: Pierce Kauth, Stevens Point

Coach of the Year: Mike Gnewuch, Fond du Lac

Second Team


Eliot Dittmer, sr., rb, Oshkosh North; Victor Kizewski, sr., wr, Stevens Point; Brandon Patoka, jr., fb, Stevens Point; Jay Perras, jr., ol, Neenah; Manny Ramos, jr., ol, Stevens Point; Tyson Slade, sr., qb, Marshfield; Braden Stoeger, sr., qb, Hortonville; Brandon Winters, sr., ol, Stevens Point; Kyle Witthuhn, sr., wr, Hortonvillee; Will Wright, sr., te, Fond du Lac.


Nate Beyer, sr., de, Marshfield; Zane Drummond, sr., s, Hortonville; Jacob Enz, sr., lb, Neenah; Mason Metz, sr., cb, Marshfield; Austin Meulemans, sr., lb, Oshkosh West; Landon Mueller, jr., de, Oshkosh North; Murphy Osmond, sr., de, Oshkosh North; Rian Ott, jr., lb, Wisconsin Rapids; Grant Roth, jr., lb, Wisconsin Rapids; Mitch Sundstrom, sr., lb, Oshkosh North; Walter Williams, sr., lb, Oshkosh North; Gage Zahradnik, sr., dl, Fond du Lac.


Joey Dorgan, jr., k, Stevens Point; Nick Hoheisel, sr., rs, Marshfield; Zach McManus, sr., p, Marshfield.

Honorable Mention

Fond du Lac: Mason Laning, sr., ol; Dakota Wagner, sr., ol; Quinn Woelfel, sr., qb; Tanner Koenigs, sr., dl; Carver Nolan, sr., lb; Trey Halfmann, jr., cb; Keagan Berandt, jr., s; Reggie Hernandez, jr., rs. Hortonville: Mike Hills, sr., ol; Jack Huebner, sr., ol; Joey Schroeder, sr., ol; Brad Conger, sr., rb; Kyle Weisshahn, jr., dl; Nathan Lichtfuss, jr., cb; Joe Cliver, sr., s. Marshfield: Brandon Bell, jr., ol; Jared Heeg, sr., ol; Josh Lang, sr., ol; Josh Hardinger, sr., wr; Jon Wittman, jr., dl; Aaron Peters, sr., lb; Zach McManus, sr., k. Neenah: Nick Ledwith, sr., ol; Alec Elkin, soph., wr; Evan Koehnke, sr., dl; Weston Hertel, sr., cb; Cole Szczepaniak, sr., s.

Oshkosh North: Cade Fredrick, jr., ol; Malykee Hall, sr., ol; Cameron Sorenson, jr., wr; Samer Meshinesh, sr., lb; Logan McConnell, sr., s; Sam Herkert, sr., p. Oshkosh West: Chance Proehl, sr., wr; Matt Rebholz, sr., wr; Alex Lowney, sr., qb; DeShawn Dickinson, sr., lb; Joe Vils, sr., cb; Reed Yoder, jr., s. Stevens Point: Boah Gagnon, sr., ol; Grant Czaikowski, sr., wr; Gus Turner-Zick, jr., rb; Beau Rosenthal, jr., qb; Mark Wedde, sr., dl; Nate Engle, sr., lb; Taylor Thomas, sr., lb; Keon’te Williams, sr., lb; Joe Strigel, jr., cb; Joey Roth, jr.., s. Wisconsin Rapids: Andy Leiser, sr., ol; Derek Krzkowski, sr., te; Austin Glinski, jr., wr; Isaiah Westfall, soph., wr; Dawson Thurber, sr., de; Nathan Hepp. Soph., lb’ Cody Kiedrowski, sr., s; Dylan Ashbeck, soph., p; Thomas Grube, soph., rs.


More USA TODAY High School Sports