Matcats set new record with nine state placers

Matcats set new record with nine state placers


Matcats set new record with nine state placers


The South Lyon Matcats youth wrestling team ended the MMWA season on a high note Saturday at the state finals.

The Matcats set a new team record with nine state placers.

“I’m so proud of our entire team of coaches, parents and wrestlers,” coach Steve Richardson said. “This MMWA state tournament was the most competitive I’ve ever seen. Our entire team was ready and proved what hard work and determination can do.”

While many wrestlers had a great tournament, one stood out for Richardson.

“It was truly Sabrina Nauss’ day, winning the state championship,” he said. “Sabrina was challenged in every match, but won the championship the same way she did all season – with grace and poise. If she ever had a time to celebrate excessively, this was it, but Sabrina takes what we preach to heart – winning with pride.

“She congratulated every one of her competitors and their coaches with a handshake, a hug and a smile. That is what champions are made of.”

Sabrina Nauss had the lone title, while runner-up finishers were Antonio Nauss, Ryan Henderson, Beck Yurkunas

Placing third were Jack Toth, Wyatt Lees and Simeon Mardossian. Alex Perry and Brandon Oliver finished fourth.

The Matcats were also awarded the MMWA Team Sportsmanship of the Year trophy. It goes out to the team that demonstrates what the sport is all about, highly competitive while demonstrating the best sportsmanship all year.

“The coaching staff is so proud of our entire team for earning this,” Richardson said.

MYWAY regional

The Matcats also competed in the MYWAY regional Sunday at Utica.

Qualifying for states in Battle Creek are Bronson Shinkonis, Trent Vella, Aiden Garcia, Bella Cepak, Nathan Walkowiak, Wyatt Lees, Ryan Henderson, Easton Hardesty, Jack Toth, Liam Seaver, Williams Shaeffer, Sabrina Nauss, Hunter Oliver, Antonio Nauss, Simeon Mardossian, Benny Leece, Ethan Price, Andrew Nowacki, Scott Cann, Mathew Cepak and Ian Goins.


More USA TODAY High School Sports