Mr. and Ms. Golf, All-State teams announced

Mr. and Ms. Golf, All-State teams announced


Mr. and Ms. Golf, All-State teams announced


Owensboro Catholic High School senior John Augenstein and Madison Central senior Tristyn Nowlin were named Kentucky’s Mr. and Ms. Golf on Thursday by the Kentucky Junior Golf Foundation.

The awards are based on a season-long race that awards points based on finishes at the state’s top tournaments.

Augenstein, who has committed to Vanderbilt, totaled 825 points after finishing in a tie for fifth place at the state tournament held earlier this month at Bowling Green Country Club. Augenstein, who was the state champion as a junior, won six tournaments this season and finished as the runner-up in two others.

Nowlin, who has committed to Illinois, was the runner-up at the state tournament in Bowling Green and totaled 870 points. She won three tournament titles and finished among the top 10 in all 10 of her events this year.

The KJGF also announced its All-State teams, and several Louisville golfers made the lists.

All five members of St. Xavier’s state championship team were recognized, with Matt Liston, Michael Sass and Allen Hamilton making the first team and Billy Basham and Drew Kiehl on the second team.

Also making the second team were Manual’s Robbie Keyes, North Oldham’s Mason Lenhart and Bullitt East’s Zach Taylor.

On the girls side, Sacred Heart’s Ryan Bender and Erin Rowland were named to the second team.

Here are the complete All-State teams, including total points:


* First team – Tristyn Nowlin (Madison Central, 870); Teri Doss (Paducah Tilghman, 825); Mary Joiner (Franklin-Simpson, 785); Lauren Hartlage (Elizabethtown, 765); Sarah Fite (Mason County, 605); MacKenzie Neal (Madison Central, 600); Hannabeth Owens (Rockcastle County, 580); Leslie Ginter (Henry Clay, 525); Rebecca Black (Elizabethtown, 480); Mallory Lovell (Scott County, 475).

* Second team – Bailey Tyree (Marshall County, 445); Ke’Asha Phillips (Owensboro, 430); Kristen Engle (Barbourville, 415); Ryan Bender (Sacred Heart, 415); Erin Durstock (Notre Dame, 410); Sarah Boden (Grant County, 410); Erin Rowland (Sacred Heart, 395); Bailey Hubbard (Clay County, 365); Laura McQueen (Casey County, 345); Rachel Fine (Paul Dunbar, 335).


* First team – John Augenstein (Owensboro Catholic, 825); C.J. Jones (Franklin County, 815); Matt Liston (St. Xavier, 755); Tyler Lippert (Mason County, 745); Chase Landrum (Glasgow, 735); Michael Sass (St. Xavier, 730); Jacob Cook (Franklin County, 705); Allen Hamilton (St. Xavier, 680); Rhett Cardwell (Union County, 670); Ryan Gillum (Elliott County, 665).

* Second team – Kyle Jeffers (North Laurel, 640); Billy Basham (St. Xavier, 545); Avery Edwards (McCracken County, 515); Austin Knight (Hopkinsville, 510); Robbie Keyes (Manual, 505); Mason Lenhart (North Oldham, 490); Zach Norris (Jackson County, 475); Drew Kiehl (St. Xavier, 455); Ryan Clements (Ryle, 455); Zach Taylor (Bullitt East, 455).


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Mr. and Ms. Golf, All-State teams announced
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit