NFHS announces selection of high school coaches of the year

NFHS announces selection of high school coaches of the year


NFHS announces selection of high school coaches of the year


The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association announced its selection of 21 high school coaches as 2014 National Coaches of the Year.

Through the awards program, established in 1982, the NFHS honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), as well as one “other” sport not included among the top 10 listings. The NFHS also recognizes a “Spirit coach” as a separate award category. Award winners must be active coaches during the year for which they receive the award.

Recipients for girls sports include:

Carmen Jackson, track and field, Northwestern High (Miami, Fla.)
Curt DeHaan, basketball, Lynden Christian Schools (Wa.)
Laurie Glass, volleyball, Leland Public Schools (Mich.)
Brian Song, soccer, Clarksville River Hill High (MD.)
John Biedenbach, softball, Trenton High (Mich.)
Johnette Goldman, cross country, Heber Springs High (Ark.)
Coleen Davis, tennis, Episcopal School (Portland, Ore.)
Maurice “Stringy” Ervin, swimming and diving, Littleton High (Colo.)
Leslie Bender, golf, Sacred Heart Academy (Louisville, Ky.)

Recipients for boys sports include:

Dale Mueller, football, Highlands High (Ft. Thomas, Ky.)
John Lober, track and field, Central High (Traverse City, Mich.)
Pat Rady, basketball, Cloverdale High (Ind.)
Rick Carpenter, baseball, Prosper High (Texas)
Lee Mitchell, soccer, Alta High (Sandy, Utah)
Russ Cozart, wrestling, Brandon High (Fla.)
Frank Trammel, cross country, Benton High (La.)
Micheal Goll, tennis, Central High (Salina, Kan.)
Roger Lauzon, golf, Lynnfield High (Mass.)
Claude Valle, swimming and diving, Weston High (Mass.)

Additionally, Fieldcrest High (Minonk, Ill.) competitive dance coach Tina Fortner received the National Coach of the Year Award for spirit. Joan Ganim of Brecksville High (Broadview Heights, Ohio) was selected for girls gymnastics in the “other” sport category.

James N. Feldkamp of Troy, Michigan, received the National Coach Contributor Award, presented to an individual who exemplifies the highest standards of sportsmanship, ethical conduct and moral character and carries the endorsement of his or her respective state high school association.


More USA TODAY High School Sports