Red Sox win Pool A

Red Sox win Pool A


Red Sox win Pool A


Pontotoc’s Tyreque Reed (12) congratulates teammate Jake McDonald after he hit a two-run home run during the Red Sox’s 8-0 victory over Rogersville, Mo., on Friday at Cooper Park.

Pontotoc’s Tyreque Reed (12) congratulates teammate Jake McDonald after he hit a two-run home run during the Red Sox’s 8-0 victory over Rogersville, Mo., on Friday at Cooper Park.

The Pontotoc, Miss., Red Sox completed an unbeaten run through pool play and clinched the Pool A championship of the Brooks Robinson Twin Lakes Classic with an 8-0, run-rule victory over Rogersville, Mo., on Friday at Cooper Park.

The Red Sox (6-0) are scheduled to face the fourth wild card team at 3 p.m. Saturday in bracket play. The five wild card teams were still being determined at press time late Friday night.

Tyreque Reed went 3 for 3 with two RBIs to lead Pontotoc, which won three straight Classic championships from 2009 to 2011.

Pontotoc led off the bottom of the second inning with Reed beating out an infield hit and Jake McDonald bashing a line-drive home run to left-center field for a 2-0 lead. The home run was the fourth of the tournament for the Red Sox.

The Red Sox continued pounding the ball in the third, bashing four doubles. Delvin Zinn — a recent 28th round draft pick of the Chicago Cubs — and Reed each hit RBI ground-rule doubles, and Denver McQuary and Reid Carter each added doubles to drive in runs, sending the lead to 7-0.

Pontotoc pitcher Witt Roatan escaped bases-loaded jams in the first and fourth innings, including striking out two in a row to end the fourth. Rogersville stranded seven baserunners in just five innings.

The Red Sox scored a run in the fourth as Kaleb Barnes walked, stole second and scored on another hit by Reed.

Roatan pitched a 1-2-3 top of the fifth to end the game due to the tournament’s run-rule. Logan Eury took the loss for Rogersville, pitching 22/3 innings. Roatan earned the win, striking out 11 and scattering six hits over five frames.

Desoto, Mo. 9,

Batesville 6

Desoto rallied on four separate occasions to take a cross-pool game against the Highwaymen.

After trailing by a run, Batesville surged ahead 3-1 in the second inning. Ronnie Jeffrey had a two-run single in the rally. Desoto scored a run in each of the second and third innings to pull even at 3-3, but the Highwaymen regained the lead again with two in the top of the fifth.

Logan Holman singled, Jesse Sampley walked, and both scored on an error for a 5-3 advantage. The lead was short-lived again, as Desoto plated a pair in the fifth. Cherokee Boynton singled and scored on a groundout, and Cole White reached on an error and scored on a base hit by Garrett Keath.

Batesville took a 6-5 lead in the sixth as Chipper Lamb singled home Tristan Tate. Once again, however, Desoto answered with four runs in the bottom half of the inning.

Adam Killian doubled, and Robert Nickelson followed with a homer to left field to take the lead. Cody Keim started things over again with a double, Clayton Boyer doubled him home, and Keath drove in Boyer with a base hit to right field.

Keath and Hayden Radford each went 2 for 4, while Keath drove in three runs for Desoto.

Harrison 4,

Benton 0

Harrison McDonald’s pitcher Drew Fitzgerald scattered five hits over six shutout innings to clinch a spot into Saturday’s bracket for the Big Macs.

Andrew Crawford scored three of the Big Macs’ runs. The shortstop singled and scored runs in the third and fifth innings, and Crawford and Daniel McCormick each had hits and scored runs in the sixth to push the lead to 4-0.

Crawford was 3 for 5, McCormick was 3 for 4, and Quinn Cherry and Adam Brown each were 2 for 4 to lead Harrison at the plate.

For local sports updates, follow Neal Denton on Twitter @BBSportsNeal and Like him on Facebook at

2015 Twin Lakes Classic

at Cooper Park

Wednesday’s games

Rogersville, Mo. 11, Hollister, Mo. 4

Blue Springs, Mo. 9, Harrison 2

Benton 3, Eureka, Mo. 2

Pontotoc, Miss. 12, Batesville 1

MH Lockeroom 9, Desoto, Mo. 1


Pontotoc, Miss. 12, Desoto, Mo. 0

Batesville 9, Hollister, Mo. 1

Eureka, Mo. 8, Harrison 5

Blue Springs, Mo. 13, Benton 5

Rogersville, Mo. 9, MH Lockeroom 6


Harrison 4, Benton 0

Desoto, Mo. 9, Batesville 6

Pontotoc, Miss. 8, Rogersville, Mo. 0

Blue Springs, Mo. 13, Eureka, Mo. 3

MH Lockeroom 10, Hollister, Mo. 2


Pontotoc, Miss. vs. Eureka, Mo.12:30 p.m.

Rogersville, Mo. vs. Harrison3 p.m.

Blue Springs, Mo. vs. Batesville5:15 p.m.

MH Lockeroom vs. Benton7:30 p.m.


More USA TODAY High School Sports