Six Razorbacks on pre-season teams

Six Razorbacks on pre-season teams


Six Razorbacks on pre-season teams


Arkansas’ Keon Hatcher speaks to reporters at the Southeastern Conference college football media days on Wednesday in Hoover, Ala.

Arkansas’ Keon Hatcher speaks to reporters at the Southeastern Conference college football media days on Wednesday in Hoover, Ala.

Six Arkansas Razorbacks, all on offense, were voted to the second and third teams on the Pre-Season SEC Football Media Days teams announced Friday in Hoover, Ala.

The four Razorbacks voted SEC Media Days second-team are senior running back Jonathan Williams, on preseason national watch lists for the Maxwell Award and Doak Walker Award; junior tight end Hunter Henry, on the Mackey Award watch list; and junior offensive tackles, Denver Kirkland, on the Outland Trophy watch list, and Dan Skipper.

Razorbacks voted SEC Media Days third team are senior offensive guard Sebastian Tretola, on the Outland Trophy watch list; and junior running back Alex Collins, on both the Maxwell and Doak Walker watch lists.

Skipper — a starting left guard in 2013 and starting left tackle in 2014 — has moved to starting right tackle, while Kirkland, a starting right guard in 2013 and 2014, has moved to starting right tackle.

Henry has received postseason second-team All-SEC recognition the past two years, and Collins was the 2013 SEC Freshman of the Year and exceeded 1,000 yards rushing in both 2013 and 2014.

Williams topped 1,000 yards rushing last season.

Tretola joined the Razorbacks as a junior college transfer last season and gained national fame as a 340-pound guard throwing a touchdown pass off a trick play during a 45-17 nonconference rout of Alabama-Birmingham.

SEC Media Days were conducted Monday through Thursday in Hoover with Arkansas announced Thursday as projected to finish fourth in the seven-team West by a 225-vote media panel.

Alabama was voted the favorite on the voting points system to win the West, yet Auburn, projected second in the West, drew the most first-place votes as favored to beat the East champion in the Dec. 5 SEC Championship game.

LSU, Arkansas, Ole Miss, Texas A&M and Mississippi State were projected third through seventh in the West. All seven received first-place votes — Arkansas, fourth most in the West with sixth.

However, only Arkansas among the West placed zero on the SEC Media Days first team dominated by the West.

Missouri, the defending SEC East champion but voter-projected third in the East, and South Carolina, Florida, Kentucky and Vanderbilt, projected fourth through seventh in the East, also did not place any on the Media Days first team.

Georgia was voted the heavy favorite to win the East with Tennessee second.

The Media Days first-team offense includes quarterback Dak Prescott, Mississippi State; running backs Nick Chubb, Georgia; and Leonard Fournette, LSU; receivers Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss; and Duke Williams, Auburn; tight end Evan Engram, Ole Miss; and linemen Ryan Kelly, Alabama; Cam Robinson, Alabama; Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss; Vadal Alexander, LSU; and John Theus, Georgia.

The first-team defense includes linemen Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss; A’Shawn Robinson Alabama; Myles Garrett, Texas A&M; and Carl Lawson, Auburn.

First-team linebackers are Reggie Ragland, Alabama; Jordan Jenkins, Georgia; and Curt Maggitt, Tennessee.

The first-team secondary includes Florida’s Vernon Hargreaves III, son of Arkansas linebackers coach Vernon Hargreaves; Cyrus Jones, Alabama; Jonathan Jones, Auburn; and Jalen Mills, LSU.

First-team specialists are punter J.K. Scott, Alabama; place-kicker Marshall Morgan, Georgia; returner Speedy Noil, Texas A&M; and all-purpose Pharaoh Cooper, South Carolina.


(Total points earned in parenthesis)



QB-Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (170)

RB-Nick Chubb, Georgia (189)

RB-Leonard Fournette, LSU (180)

WR-Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss (169)

WR-Duke Williams, Auburn (154)

TE-Evan Engram, Ole Miss (128)

OL-Cam Robinson, Alabama (167)

OL-Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss (159)

OL-Vadal Alexander, LSU (131)

OL-John Theus, Georgia (129)

C-Ryan Kelly, Alabama (144)


QB-Jeremy Johnson, Auburn (89)

RB-Derrick Henry, Alabama (151)

RB-Jonathan Williams, Arkansas (82)

WR-Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina (147)

WR-De’Runnya Wilson, Mississippi State (59)

TE-Hunter Henry, Arkansas (97)

OL-Germain Ifedi, Texas A&M (124)

OL-Dan Skipper, Arkansas (95)

OL-Denver Kirkland, Arkansas (85)

OL-Greg Pyke, Georgia (83)

C-Mike Matthews, Texas A&M (108)


QB-Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee (62)

RB-Alex Collins, Arkansas (80)

RB-Kenyan Drake, Alabama (34)

WR-Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (50)

WR-Josh Reynolds, Texas A&M (39)

TE-O.J. Howard, Alabama (87)

OL-Sebastian Tretola, Arkansas (72)

OL-Alex Kozan, Auburn (69)

OL-Avery Young, Auburn (57)

OL-Brandon Shell, South Carolina (50)

C-Evan Boehm, Missouri (81)



DL-Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (173)

DL-A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama (160)

DL-Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (155)

DL-Carl Lawson, Auburn (131)

LB-Reggie Ragland, Alabama (181)

LB-Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (121)

LB-Curt Maggitt, Tennessee (102)

DB-Vernon Hargreaves, Florida (186)

DB-Cyrus Jones, Alabama (126)

DB-Jonathan Jones, Auburn (122)

DB-Jalen Mills, LSU (118)


DL-Jonathan Bullard, Florida (115)

DL-Derek Barnett, Tennessee (105)

DL-Jonathan Allen, Alabama (99)

DL-Chris Jones, Mississippi State (93)

LB-Kendell Beckwith, LSU (93)

LB-Leonard Floyd, Georgia (92)

LB-Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn (80)

DB-Tony Conner, Ole Miss (117)

DB-Cameron Sutton, Tennessee (115)

DB-Will Redmond, Mississippi State (79)

DB-Tre’Davious White, LSU (61)


DL-Montravius Adams, Auburn (90)

DL-Jarran Reed, Alabama (60)

DL-Davon Godchaux, LSU (40)

DL-Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss (34)

LB-Kris Frost, Auburn (77)

LB-Antonio Morrison, Florida (66)

LB-Kentrell Brothers, Missouri (61)

DB-A.J. Stamps, Kentucky (59)

DB-Eddie Jackson, Alabama (58)

DB-Jamal Adams, LSU (56)

DB-Johnathan Ford, Auburn (52)



P-J.K. Scott, Alabama (161)

PK-Marshall Morgan, Georgia (100)

RS-Speedy Noil, Texas A&M (117)

AP-Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina (112)


P-Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (92)

PK-Elliott Fry, South Carolina (87)

RS-Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina (75)

AP-Leonard Fournette, LSU (85)


P-Jamie Keehn, LSU (52)

PK-Austin MacGinnis, Kentucky (59)

RS-Leonard Fournette, LSU (66)

AP-Speedy Noil, Texas A&M (84)

NOTES provided by SEC

The top vote-getters in 2015 were Nick Chubb (Georgia), Vernon Hargreaves (Florida) and Reggie Ragland (Alabama). Hargreaves was voted to the preseason media team as well in 2014.

Since 2000, Arkansas’ Darren McFadden (2007) is the only unanimous selection to the SEC Media Days First Team at his position, collecting possible votes that year.

Alabama had the most first-team selections this season with six. Since 1992, the most players on a first-team nine by Alabama in 2011, followed by eight by Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009).


More USA TODAY High School Sports