South Laurel's Daniel Neal named Mr. Baseball

South Laurel's Daniel Neal named Mr. Baseball


South Laurel's Daniel Neal named Mr. Baseball


Daniel Neal, who helped lead South Laurel High School to the state tournament in three of the past four seasons, has been named Kentucky’s Mr. Baseball by the Kentucky High School Baseball Coaches Association.

Neal, a senior pitcher/infielder who has signed with Tennessee, batted .532 with 15 home runs and 55 RBIs as the Cardinals finished 31-6 and lost to South Warren in the first round of the state tournament earlier this month. He also posted 48 runs, 11 doubles, four triples and 15 stolen bases.

On the mound, Neal was 6-3 with a 2.00 ERA and one save. He struck out 31 in 49 innings.

Four players from the Louisville area were selected to the All-State first team – Pleasure Ridge Park’s Alex Miller, North Bullitt’s Logan Wyatt, St. Xavier’s J.D. Mundt and Christian Academy’s Riley Thompson.

Here are the complete All-State teams:

First team: Cole Womack (McCracken County), Ryan Garner (McCracken County), Easton McGee (Hopkinsville), Jake Griffin (Ohio County), Caleb Bruner (Logan County), Cam Shryock (South Warren), Alex Miller (Pleasure Ridge Park), Logan Wyatt (North Bullitt), J.D. Mundt (St. Xavier), Riley Thompson (Christian Academy), Jason Goe (Grant County), Todd Ramey (Highlands), Joseph Martin (Highlands), Dima Ballard (Lexington Christian), Daniel Little (Lexington Catholic), Layne Peavler (Mercer County), Seth Murphy (Garrard County), Trevor Howard (Pulaski Southwestern), Trey Merida (West Jessamine), Daniel Neal (South Laurel), Griffin Wells (Hazard), Jacob Barnwell (Boyd County).

Second team: Bryce Tichenor (Madisonville-North Hopkins), Wyatt Skaggs (Grayson County), Cole Lyons (Apollo), Grant Best (Russell County), Taylor Grider (Russell County), Cody Bridges (Elizabethtown), Britton Elmore (Central Hardin), Parker Taylor (Nelson County), Ricky West (Jeffersontown), Jonathan Embry (Christian Academy), Will McDonald (Collins), Ricky Raisor (Highlands), Robbie Stroub (Harrison County), Kaven Brown (Bourbon County), Brandon Calia (Lafayette), Alex Daniel (Lafayette), Aaron McGeorge (Henry Clay), Jaren Shelby (Tates Creek), Trey Martin (South Laurel), Chance Cornett (Knott County Central), Dylan Grimm (Boyd County), Brody Shoupe (Greenup County).

Third team: Keaton Scruggs (Hopkinsville), Bryan Chilton (Christian County), Stephen Thompson (Owensboro Catholic), Ray Zuberer (Owensboro Catholic), Logan Hicks (Meade County), Davion Downey (Warren East), Andy Highbaugh (Barren County), Stuart Posey (Bowling Green), Joseph McIntyre (Bowling Green), Brett Marshall (Trinity), Wesley Jorette (Anderson County), Sean Lawrence (Simon Kenton), Zakk Hicks (Carroll County), Griffin McLarty (Oldham County), Andrew Trame (Scott), Jake Ohmer (Scott), Jordan Fucci (Tates Creek), Mason Stamm (Danville), Ethan Maxey (North Laurel), Geordon Blanton (Johnson Central), Matt Miller (Paintsville), Chandler Adams (East Carter).

Honorable mention: Drew Mill (Whitesville Trinity), Matt Harper (Logan County), Wes King (South Warren), Cameron Dawson (LaRue County), Andrew Pennybaker (North Oldham), Brett Slusher (Beechwood), Tyler Newton (Nicholas County), Brady Sansom (Campbell County), Nathan Fryman (Harrison County), Drew Schacht (Lexington Christian), Dustin Gross (Clay County), Evan Hurt (Perry County Central), Austin Bailey (Lawrence County), Heath Hensley (Russell).


More USA TODAY High School Sports