Judson, Wilkinson draw top 4A football honors

Cocoa High football coach John Wilkinson and quarterback Bruce Judson have received the top awards in Class 4A given by the Florida Dairy Farmers.

Bruce Judson of Cocoa goes 75 yards for a TD during Thursday's Class 4A championship game in Orlando.

Bruce Judson of Cocoa goes 75 yards for a TD during Thursday’s Class 4A championship game in Orlando.

The awards come after the Tigers won the 4A state championship with a 31-17 defeat of Jacksonville Bolles on Dec. 8 in Orlando.

Judson, who has said he will sign with the University of South Florida in February, was named the Florida Dairy Farmers 4A Player of the Year.

He finished the season with 62 pass completions in 94 attempts for 1,163 yards, 16 touchdowns and four interceptions. He rushed for nine other touchdowns, carrying the ball 130 times during the season for 866 yards.

In the state final, Judson’s 75-yard touchdown run in the second quarter pushed the Cocoa lead to two touchdowns after Bolles had driven 69 yards to cut the lead in half. He finished the game with 158 yards on 18 carries to lead the Tigers in rushing.

MORE: Wilkinson drove Cocoa to reach its potential

The championship was the fourth won under Wilkinson, who was named the Florida Dairy Farmers 4A Coach of the Year. Wilkinson led the Tigers to their first state title in 2008, followed by championship wins in ’09 and ’10.

Wilkinson, who has a career record of 147-40 and a Cocoa head coaching record of 132-25, led the team to an 11-1 season in 2016.

Both are finalists for statewide awards.

Cocoa head football coach John Wilkinson call out instructions to his team during a September game at Viera.

Cocoa head football coach John Wilkinson call out instructions to his team during a September game at Viera.

Other finalists for Mr. Football are Vero Beach quarterback Mike Dean from Class 8A, Venice running back Matt Laroche from 7A, Navarre running back Michael Carter from 6A, Ponte Vedra quarterback Nick Tronti of 5A, receiver-defensive back Shaun Wade of 3A Jacksonville Trinity Christian, quarterback Griffin Alstott of Northside Christian in 2A, 1A quarterback Dentarrius Yon of West Gadsden and quarterback Jarrett Conkling of independent school International Community School.

Vote for this week’s Athlete of the Week

The other coaching finalists are Miami Southridge’s Billy Rolle in Class 8A, O.J. Small of Robert E. Lee in 7A, Doug DeMyer of Lake Gibson in 6A, Ponte Vedra’s Matt Toblin in 5A, Dameon Jones of Chaminade-Madonna in 3A, Champagnat Catholic’s Dennis Marroquin in 2A, Pahokee’s Orson Walkes in 1A and Keith Allen of King’s Academy from the ranks of independent schools.

There were others from Brevard finishing near the top of voting for various coaches. Quarterback Joaquin Collazo and coach Stacy Sizemore both placed third in Class 3A balloting. Cocoa Beach coach David Lowe was fifth in voting for the top independent coach of 2016.

Contact McCallum at 321-242-3698 or Follow and @Brian_McCallum on Twitter.

High school sports |

More Stories

Insane Maine HS basketball finish features 4 lead changes in final 21 seconds

The Maine high school playoff game between Thornton Academy and Bonny Eagle had one of the most exciting finishes of the season.

Read the full article
Elijah Moore

Watch: 4-star SG Elijah Moore makes his commitment to Syracuse

Watch Moore announce his decision.

Read the full article

LB Andrew Harris had such a wholesome reaction to seeing Troy Polamalu at Polynesian Bowl

Andrew Harris could not believe it when he realized who was about to hand him the Polynesian Bowl MVP award.

Read the full article
More News